TUFLOW Forum
cfrk

Sending model/files - good system?

Has anyone developed a quick system for selecting files associated with a model i.e. to burn to a CD if I'm sending the model to a 3rd party?

I have 6 separate runs I need to send, all with different control files and .tab layer versions etc. At present I am having to go through all the control files and then manually select the Mapinfo layers referred to - quite time consuming and occasionally results in missing files. I don't want to send my whole folder structure as it is very large with a lot of older intermediate versions etc that no one else is interested in.

Would be great to have some type of utility that does this automatically, although not being a programmer I don't know if it's feasible?

Cheers

Richard

Richard

Use the copy function in Tuflow (..\tuflow.exe -c) this will copy all files referenced by the run.

This function creates a zip file which can be sent to a third party and will allow them to run the files on there system

Each of the six run your need a separate zip file can be created.

Hope this helps

David

Hi Richard,

There is indeed already a facility to copy specific model runs (the various control files and georeferenced inputs etc).

The main TUFLOW executable has an option to run through the model setup and copy all the files it reads into a mirrored file structure (so there'll be a runs folder and a model folder etc. if you use the standard folder structure).

This is detailed in section 5.3 of the 2008 manual.

The gist is as follows:

"

TUFLOW.exe has several switches or options used to control how TUFLOW functions. Switches are prefixed by a “-”, and are usually placed between TUFLOW.exe and the .tcf filename.

For example, to copy a model, use a line such as the below with whatever method you use to run TUFLOW simulations (batch file or right click options for example):

“C:\Program Files\Tuflow\Tuflow.exe” -c “My Model.tcf”